Veruca

While I do intend this to be a blog about Dallas chocolates, I have to include out of town chocolates when I have those!  I was recently visiting a friend in Chicago and we happened upon a pop up chocolate shop, Veruca.  I am not 100% sure how pop-up shops work, but I was willing to give it a try.  They had pre-boxed sets of chocolates and, as usual, it was very difficult to decide what to get.  They had several boxes of all the same flavors, but wanting to try a variety, I ended up going for a small box of four truffles that I cut into pieces and shared with my friends.  I then also had to explain the rating system and invite them to rate the chocolates with me.  So, these ratings are based on group consensus.  Next time I am in Chicago I will have to track down more Veruca chocolates because there are lots more flavors I need to try!

    Gold Squares – “burnt caramel and chocolate”

I was hesitant about the burnt aspect of these chocolates, but they were DELICIOUS!  Much better than I expected.

    Purple – “lavender”

My positive experience with a lavender truffle at Kate Weiser made me hopeful that this truffle would be good and it did not disappoint!   Great flavor and good consistency.

     Gold dots – “hazelnut-cinnamon”

This seemed like an odd combination of flavors, but it was ok.  The flavor was mild, but the chocolate was good.

     Hot Pink – “saffron”

I was hoping this would be better than it sounded, but it wasn’t.  The flavor was not very good and did not blend well with the chocolate.  I like trying unusual flavors, but it doesn’t always work out.


Leave a comment