Hot Chocolate

I don’t intentionally seek out chocolate when I visit my friends, but they all know I love it, so we inevitably end up consuming some kind of chocolate.  When I visited my friend in Chicago, I was lucky enough to get two chocolate stops!  The first was a pop up shop, Veruca and the second was a delicious restaurant, Hot Chocolate.  I loved it already because of the name!  Even though I was there in July, it was chilly (ok, it was 67, but keep in mind I live in Dallas – anything below 70 is cold!) so naturally I was in the perfect mood for hot chocolate.

Now, I am a bit of a hot chocolate snob.  When I was a kid, I was perfectly happy with the Swiss Miss packet of hot chocolate powder (or whatever other brand you prefer) that you mix with hot water.  However, I became an adult, moved to Europe and discovered the magic of thick, drinking chocolate.  Heaven.  Warm, thick, delicious, chocolaty goodness.  I was ruined for all other kinds of hot chocolate.  I have been on a quest to find something comparable here in the U.S. and at Hot Chocolate, I found it!  They have several flavors of hot chocolate, but I went with dark (because I love dark chocolate) and it was sooooooo good!  They also have a large selection of cookies and a nice menu of non-chocolaty foods in case you want to eat something more than hot chocolate.  It is also near the new walking trail, the 606.  Next time you are in Chicago, have some delicious chocolate and then walk it off on the trail!

Doesn’t it look good?!  And those are homemade marshmallows on the side…


Leave a comment