Dude Sweet

Dude Sweet was the first chocolate shop I visited upon my return to Dallas.  I had heard it was good so when I had a friend in town I figured that was the perfect time to try it out!  Sadly, this was before I started using my fabulous rating system, so I have no official ratings to report.  However, this just means I will have to go back for another sampling!

I will say, based on my memory, everything was good.  They have several locations and I went to the one in Bishop Arts.  It is a small shop and they have everything from truffles to hot chocolate mixes to chocolate syrups.  They offer samples of all their chocolates and I tried as many as I felt was appropriate… which was most of the store.  The man helping us kept offering samples of the various chocolates from fudge to truffles to chocolate bars – who could say no to that?!  Dude Sweet have some surprising flavor combinations, but they were all tasty.

Another cool part of their store is a see-through barrier to the kitchen.  If you are lucky enough to be there when the chef is, you will get to see how their delicious chocolates get made!  Sadly there was no one cooking while I was there. Apparently, their chef was looking for culinary inspiration in Latin America.  I am not sure I ever realized there was a job that would let me travel the world eating, looking for flavors to add to chocolate… it sounds like a dream!

One visit is not enough because there are also seasonal items for sale like chocolate mousse (one of my FAVORITE desserts) and chocolate ice cream.  I will have to go back and record my findings on specific items, but until then, the store as a whole gets a:


Leave a comment